I am Innately Aggressive, Not Innately Warlike

War and hockey, although they tap into innate human aggression, are both learned, culturally-driven behaviours.

Aggression is innate but hockey isn’t, and either is war.

I play pond hockey. After we whack the puck around a while, and we’re soaked in sweat and sagging, I shout, “Next goal wins!” Then, no matter how exhausted I am, I skate like a maniac to score that last goal.

So are humans innately aggressive? Of course we are, and some of us more than others. My aggression emerges not only in hockey games but also in spats over whether war—not just aggression, or violence, but deadly group violence–has deep evolutionary roots.

– more @ sciam

 

Leave a Reply

